Graphical Models - Questions about the code and what is being implemented

User 334 | 6/22/2014, 10:29:13 PM

Hello,

I am an undergrad student and I am trying to implement parameter and structure learning in Bayesian Networks. I thought about using the GraphLab to do it, but I am having a hard time trying to understand the graphical models toolkit.

Thus, I would deeply appreciate if someone can address those questions: Where exactly you implement the Markov Random Fields. Do you have a implementation of Belief Networks? If so, did you implement the Belief propagation? How can I find the Bayesian network implementation? Do you already perform parameter and structure learning? If yes, where and for what models? Do you have more documentation about you Factor implementation, do you use it to implement the MRF?

Sorry if some of those are silly questions, but I ensure I did my best trying to figure out the answers by my own. Thank you very much,

Breno Carvalho

Comments

User 6 | 6/23/2014, 7:39:11 AM

Hi Breno, We do support MRF, Belief networks, including inference (belief propagation). The following toolkit: http://docs.graphlab.org/factor_graphs.html implements this functionality.

We do not support general parameter or structure learning.

We suggest searching this forum: http://forum.graphlab.com/search?Search=factor+graph for more detailed documentation of BP issues.

Best,

User 334 | 9/20/2014, 12:32:24 AM

Danny, I am having a hard time with my implementation of algorithms for learning parameters and learning structures for Belief Networks and MRFs.

Is there any more detailed information about the Factor Graph implementation than what we can find at: http://docs.graphlab.org/graphical_models.html ?

I am trying to use Factor Graph to represent Belief Networks and MRFs and write the algorithms, but I am just lost with the myriad of classes, structs and namespaces we have related to Factor Graphs.

Thank you for the support above. :smiley: