Change dtype of my colums

User 2504 | 10/28/2015, 4:21:58 PM

Hi, I'm a beginner and I'm doing data manipulation. I have a question : I have 47 colums, and during the import of my csv, some of my colums are in str while they should be int. Could you tell me how I could change that ? Tks a lot

Comments

User 1592 | 10/28/2015, 4:24:59 PM

This is very easy: data['mycolumn'] = data['mycolumn'].astype(int)

An alternative solution is to use the columntypehints field that will tell GraphLab Create to read this column as int, see the documentation here: https://dato.com/products/create/docs/generated/graphlab.SFrame.read_csv.html.

User 2504 | 10/28/2015, 9:00:59 PM

Tks a lot Danny - indeed basic, I'm learning :-)

When I run it I get the message below, do you see why ? here what I run : makeup['CTR'] = makeup['CTR'].astype(int) and what I got : ` RuntimeError Traceback (most recent call last) <ipython-input-20-7649b63bd1ce> in <module>() ----> 1 makeup['CTR'] = makeup['CTR'].astype(int)

/Users/Arnaud/.graphlab/anaconda/lib/python2.7/site-packages/graphlab/datastructures/sarray.pyc in astype(self, dtype, undefinedonfailure) 2206 2207 with cythoncontext(): -> 2208 return SArray(proxy=self.proxy.astype(dtype, undefinedon_failure)) 2209 2210 def clip(self, lower=float('nan'), upper=float('nan')):

/Users/Arnaud/.graphlab/anaconda/lib/python2.7/site-packages/graphlab/cython/context.pyc in exit(self, exctype, excvalue, traceback) 47 if not self.showcythontrace: 48 # To hide cython trace, we re-raise from here ---> 49 raise exctype(excvalue) 50 else: 51 # To show the full trace, we do nothing and let exception propagate

RuntimeError: Runtime Exception. Unable to interpret as the target type. `

User 4 | 10/28/2015, 9:20:17 PM

Hi @ArnaudPlas, it seems you have some values in this column that are not valid int values. Namely, empty string ('').