trouble with "import graphlab"

User 2039 | 6/9/2015, 6:41:04 PM

I'm new to graphlab, and I seem to have installed it correctly (install command returned "Successfully installed GraphLab-Create-License-1.4.0"). By the way, I am using a virtual environment using virtalenv.

However, when I start a python session and type the command "import graphlab", I get the following:

Traceback (most recent call last): File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module> File "/Library/Python/2.7/site-packages/graphlab/init.py", line 24, in <module> import graphlab.connect.aws as aws File "/Library/Python/2.7/site-packages/graphlab/connect/aws/init.py", line 18, in <module> from ec2 import getcredentials, launchEC2, listinstances, setcredentials, status, terminateEC2 File "/Library/Python/2.7/site-packages/graphlab/connect/aws/ec2.py", line 25, in <module> import graphlab.connect.server as glserver File "/Library/Python/2.7/site-packages/graphlab/connect/server.py", line 14, in <module> from graphlab.cython.cyipc import PyCommClient as Client ImportError: dlopen(/Library/Python/2.7/site-packages/graphlab/cython/cyipc.so, 2): no suitable image found. Did find: /Library/Python/2.7/site-packages/graphlab/cython/cyipc.so: file too short

I'm not sure what's going wrong. Bear in mind that I'm new to programming, so please forgive any vocabulary errors above.

Thanks very much.

Comments

User 2002 | 6/9/2015, 9:05:57 PM

Hi Mingie - can you confirm the pip installer version (pip -V). If it is pip 7, can you confirm you ran the following command incluiding --no-cache-dir flag.

pip install --upgrade --no-cache-dir https://get.dato.com/GraphLab-Create/1.4.0/{email}/{key}/GraphLab-Create-License.tar.gz

Thanks, Punit

User 2039 | 6/10/2015, 9:58:44 PM

Thanks punit.

Pip says pip is in version 7.0.3.